Didgeridan Flynn

I’m so excited! I just checked in to Facebook to find that Dan had posted the announcement for an upcoming show in LA with Ondrej and Stephen Kent, whom I’ve heard of but never met. Marko talks about him a lot and by now I recognize some of his music. He’s performing at the Dancing Cranes event on the 14th, as well. Well, this time cousin Dan isn’t listed as pre-show entertainment, but 4th billing as a headliner! Way to go, cous!

It’s not that I wasn’t proud and happy to hear him again as pre-show; It’s just that seeing his “name in lights,” as it were, took me back to the days when I didn’t know him at all, and he blew my mind. I imagined some didge enthusiast going to the concert for another of the 4 names and not even hearing of this guy, in no way anticipating what he will do, this guy who… “ended up being the best surprise of the night!” as I’ve exclaimed after so many live music experiences.

I realized Dan was my first didge idol. I mean, Marko opened my eyes to what this instrument was and what it was capable of, but Dan… I mean, some sounds I didn’t even know could be made on earth. And there he was, right there, circular breathing, pumping out this purcussive, perfectly simple, impossibly complicated call. His was the first signature I could recognize.

Before Dan, the music of the didgeridoo was traditional, tribal, very very unknown. After Dan I asked questions. He answered. He really answered! I found out I love the way his brain works. A friendship was born. And then we discovered we’re family. It happens in Utah. Or Nevada, as the case may be. 🙂didgeridan

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

